Today, the Cape Cod & Islands Association of REALTORS® and Cape Cod & Islands Multiple Listing Service have approximately 2,300 members. CCIAOR has been granted the jurisdiction from the National Association for Barnstable, Dukes and Nantucket counties and the town of Wareham in Plymouth County.

In the 1920’s, Cape Cod was discovered by the land promoters. At this time, all kinds of ‘For Sale’ signs began to appear wherever one looked. Land values continued to jump, and waterfront land and homes became increasingly desirable. Real estate offices opened up all over the Cape as if by magic. Cape Cod was experiencing a major land boom, and it was in this atmosphere that the Cape Cod Real Estate Board was formed. A preliminary meeting was called by Jim Henderson at the Ferguson House (this stood where the Cape Cod Times and Cape Cod Bank & Trust Co. are) and was attended by 137 men and women interested in Cape Cod development. At a later meeting, $15,100 was pledged for advertising purposes, with amounts ranging from $100 to $1,050 from each individual or firm. Forris Norris (who developed Oyster Harbors) was elected President. Soon after, the group incorporated on April 30, 1926; received their National Charter, dated April 23, 1926, and adopted their own Constitution and Bylaws.

During the first years, meetings were held every two weeks at various hotels with a regular attendance of 100 to 300 people. It cost $50 to join, with annual dues of $50. But things would change. The Great Depression hit, and in 1935, there were only 23 active members in the Association! The Association did survive those tough times, and continued to grow and change over the years to reflect its membership’s needs.

In 1987, the Association changed its name to the Cape Cod & Islands Board of REALTORS®, Inc. to reflect participation in the Board by its members on Nantucket and Martha’s Vineyard.

Since 1998, the organization has been known as the Cape Cod & Islands Association of REALTORS®, a cutting edge not-for-profit professional trade association which today has 2,300 members throughout Cape Cod, Nantucket, and Martha’s Vineyard.

The REALTOR® Association’s activities range from offering valuable member benefits, to providing Continuing Education and other professional development courses, to legislative advocacy on behalf of REALTORS® and property rights. It is affiliated with the Massachusetts Association of REALTORS® in Waltham, as well as the National Association of REALTORS® in Chicago.

Partially researched by the late 1969-1970 CC&IAOR President Helen M. Webster.

Past Presidents of CCIAOR & CCIMLS

2017 – Gregory H. Murphy
2016 – Laura Usher
2015b- Aleta Azarian, Chatham
2015a – Deb Martin, Yarmouth
2014 – Jack March, Falmouth
2014 – Cindy Lee Caldwell, Falmouth | Jack March, Falmouth – CCIMLS
2013 – Jorie Fleming, Eastham
2012 – Joan L. Witter, Osterville
2011 – David Callahan, Nantucket
2010 – Lynette C. Helms, N. Falmouth
2009 – Jamie Regan, Mashpee
2008 – Annie Blatz, Brewster | Linda Collins, Orleans – CCIMLS
2007 – Robert R. Churchill JR., Yarmouth Port
2005-2006 – James H. Crocker JR., Osterville
2003-2004 – Keith W. Bradley, Chatham
2002 – Christopher E. Coy, Chatham
2001 – Douglas C. Azarian, N. Falmouth
2000 – Richard F. Martin, So. Yarmouth
1999 – Douglas R. Payson, Barnstable Village
1998 – Marie Connolly, Chatham
1997 – Richard A. Eble, Orleans
1997 – Elizabeth A. Warren, Cummaquid
1996 – Amy W. Greene, South Yarmouth
1995 – Karen A. Jaworski, Harwichport
1994 – Edward L. Peirce, Vineyard Haven
1993 – Edward A. Oswalr, Truro
1992 – Suzanne F. Goodrich, North Eastham
1991 – Nathan C. Austin, Falmouth
1990 – Faith B. Palmer, Sandwich
1989 – Marie T. Walsh, Hyannis
1988 – Marilyn M. Seufert, Chatham
1987 – Anita G. Surette, West Dennis
1985-1986 – Richard W. Neitz, South Yarmouth
1983-1984 – Leo P. Converty, Edgartown
1981-1982 – Philip V.R. Thomson, Harwich Port
1979-1980 – Mary E. Crowley, Buzzards Bay
1978 – Charles F. Lockhart, Hyannis
1976-1977 – John H. Cuthbertson, Chatham
1974-1975 – Philip W. Drew, Orleans
1971-1973 – Walter H. Butler, Dennisport
1969-1970 – Helen M. Webster, West Yarmouth
1967-1968 – William H. Harrison, West Yarmouth
1965-1966 – John F. Martin, South Yarmouth
1964 – Ralph J. Stevens, Harwich Port
1962-1963 – Arthur D.Maddalena JR., Centerville
1960-1961 – Charles W, Jacoby, Falmouth
1958-1959 – William T. Ohman, Harwich
1955-1957 – James M. Pafford, Falmouth
1953-1954 – A. Lawrence Lovequist, West Dennis
1952 – Ralph Chase, Eastham
1948-1951 – Ben Teel, Centerville
1947 – Forris Norris, Osterville
1946 – Mrs. George Mellen, Hyannis
1945 – Forris Norris, Osterville
1942-1944 – Howard Sullivan, Harwich Port
1941 – Roswell Gifford, West Falmouth
1939-1940 – Thomas Wright, Buzzards Bay
1937-1938 – Paul Peters, Falmouth
1934-1936 – Roland Snow, Chatham
1929-1933 – Herbert Chipman, Sandwich
1926-1928 – Forris Norris, Osterville